English Language Teaching Event

Webinar

Share

  • Speaker: Edmund Dudley
  • Dates and Times:
    18th June 2019, 09:00 - 10:00 UTC
    18th June 2019, 16:00 - 17:00 UTC
    19th June 2019, 20:00 - 21:00 UTC

Let’s not be afraid to think critically about critical thinking. Coursebooks are keen to champion critical thinking skills, as part of the general promotion of 21st Century learning skills, but many of the activities designed for the classroom are of questionable value. Critical thinking is not simply an advanced reading skill or the ability to answer a nuanced question – as some of these activities would imply.

Register

Overview

Let’s not be afraid to think critically about critical thinking. Coursebooks are keen to champion critical thinking skills, as part of the general promotion of 21st Century learning skills, but many of the activities designed for the classroom are of questionable value. Critical thinking is not simply an advanced reading skill or the ability to answer a nuanced question – as some of these activities would imply. In this webinar I will suggest some best practice principles and practical techniques for designing critical thinking activities for the classroom. The main premise of the webinar will be that critical thinking should be considered a life skill, with a strong focus on out-of-classroom applications in L1, not just as learning skill to help students negotiate the ambiguity they can encounter when dealing with texts in English.

Dates and Times

You can check the equivalent time in your country with this time zone converter.

18th June 2019

  • UTC Time Zone 09:00 - 10:00
  • UK (BST) 10:00 - 11:00
  • UAE (GST) 13:00 - 14:00
  • Japan (JST) 18:00 - 19:00
  • Brazil (BRST) 06:00 - 07:00
  • New York (EST) 05:00 - 06:00

18th June 2019

  • UTC Time Zone 16:00 - 17:00
  • UK (BST) 17:00 - 18:00
  • UAE (GST) 20:00 - 21:00
  • Japan (JST) 01:00 - 02:00 (+1 day)
  • Brazil (BRST) 13:00 - 14:00
  • New York (EST) 12:00 - 13:00

19th June 2019

  • UTC Time Zone 20:00 - 21:00
  • UK (BST) 21:00 - 22:00
  • UAE (GST) 00:00 - 01:00 (+1 day)
  • Japan (JST) 05:00 - 06:00 (+1 day)
  • Brazil (BRST) 17:00 - 18:00
  • New York (EST) 16:00 - 17:00

Speaker

Edmund Dudley is a teacher trainer, materials writer and teacher of English with more than 25 years of classroom experience. Based in Budapest, he has extensive experience of teaching EFL at both primary and secondary levels. He works with teachers from around the world as a freelance teacher trainer and as a tutor at the University of Oxford’s ELT Summer Seminar. He is the author of ETpedia Teenagers (2018, Pavilion Publishing) and co-author of Mixed-Ability Teaching (2015, Oxford University Press).

Before you register

Please note that all OUP webinars are free of charge, and you may register for as many as you like.

Can’t attend the webinar? Watch the recording in your own time.

If you are not able to attend the webinar, you don’t have to miss out. If you register you will still get a link to the recording of the webinar session in the follow up email.

Before you join the webinar

Please ensure you have a computer (or supported mobile/tablet device), audio speakers and/or working headset and a good quality connection to the internet before attempting to join.

We would recommend that you test your device and network in advance of the webinar by clicking on the below link (not required for mobile/tablet users). The test will run automatically:

https://collab8.adobeconnect.com/common/help/en/support/meeting_test.htm

You must pass tests 1 to 3, you need not pass test 4 (this is for hosts and presenters only).

Mobile/tablet users

Please install the Adobe Connect application onto your device before attempting to access the webinar. Please search for ‘Adobe Connect’ in your app store (e.g. iOS App Store or Google Play), and load the free application onto your device.

More help can be found here:

http://www.adobe.com/uk/products/adobeconnect/mobile-meetings.html

Joining the webinar

The 'join' button for the webinar will not become active until 30 minutes before each webinar, therefore, you will not be able to log in until the day of the webinar.

If you try to log in before the day of the webinar, you may receive an Adobe error message on the login page.

Each email address can only be used to log into one device at a time, therefore, please keep your login details confidential.

If you would like a colleague to join the webinar, please ask them to email elt.events@oup.com.

Audio

To listen to the webinar, please ensure that you have a suitable headset or speakers.

Headsets must be plugged in before you enter the webinar room.

Please ensure that your audio is switched on and the volume at a suitable level.

Technical Support

Should you require any technical support before or during the webinar, please call the 24/7 Adobe Connect international toll-free helpline 00800 800 23623.

A list of helpline numbers can be found here:

https://helpx.adobe.com/adobe-connect/adobe-connect-phone-numbers.html

If helpline dial-in numbers for your country are not available, please dial the UK helpline number with the UK country code: +44 (0)207 365 0735.

Email Notifications

When registering for a webinar, you will receive the following emails:

  • Registration confirmation email - immediately after registration
  • Invitation email - one day before the webinar, this contains the joining link to access the webinar room
  • Follow-Up email - up to two working days after the webinar

In the follow-up email, attendees will receive:

  • Access to an online Feedback Survey, which you can use to tell us about your experience
  • Personalised Professional Development Certificate
  • Recording of your webinar session
  • Presentation Slides

For further information about registering and taking part in our webinars, please view the Technical Support and FAQ's section of our Webinars page or contact elt.events@oup.com.

Please note that all responses from elt.events@oup.com will be in English.

Register