English Language Teaching Event

Webinar

Share

  • Speaker: Amos Paran
  • Dates and Times:
    17th September 2019, 08:00 - 09:00 UTC
    17th September 2019, 15:00 - 16:00 UTC
    18th September 2019, 19:00 - 20:00 UTC

Literature is an integral part of everyone’s life: we all love stories and we all sing songs. We will examine simple techniques capitalising on the human appreciation of literary texts to promote language development at all levels and ages.

Register

Overview

Literature is an integral part of everyone’s life: we all love stories and we all sing songs. We will examine simple techniques capitalising on the human appreciation of literary texts to promote language development at all levels and ages.

Dates and Times

You can check the equivalent time in your country with this time zone converter.

17th September 2019

  • UTC Time Zone 08:00 - 09:00
  • UK (BST) 09:00 - 10:00
  • UAE (GST) 12:00 - 13:00
  • Japan (JST) 17:00 - 18:00
  • Brazil (BRST) 05:00 - 06:00
  • New York (EST) 04:00 - 05:00

17th September 2019

  • UTC Time Zone 15:00 - 16:00
  • UK (BST) 16:00 - 17:00
  • UAE (GST) 19:00 - 20:00
  • Japan (JST) 00:00 - 01:00 (+1 day)
  • Brazil (BRT) 12:00 - 13:00
  • New York (EDT) 11:00 - 12:00

18th September 2019

  • UTC Time Zone 19:00 - 20:00
  • UK (BST) 20:00 - 21:00
  • UAE (GST) 23:00 - 00:00
  • Japan (JST) 04:00 - 05:00 (+1 day)
  • Brazil (BRT) 16:00 - 17:00
  • New York (EDT) 15:00 - 16:00

Speaker

Amos Paran is a Reader in Second Language Education at the UCL Institute of Education, University College London, where he teaches on the MA TESOL. He started his professional career in Israel, where he taught EFL in secondary schools and trained teachers. He has run teacher training workshops in countries such as Viet Nam, Uzbekistan, Israel, Switzerland, Spain and France, and works regularly in Chile. His main research interests are reading in a foreign language and the use of literature in language learning, as well as distance education, and he has written extensively on these topics. He is co-editor (with Lies Sercu) of 'Testing the Untestable in Language Education', published in 2010 by Multilingual Matters. His most recent book is Literature, co-written with Pauline Robinson and published by Oxford University Press in the Into the Classroom series. He is also a lead tutor on the free Coursera MOOC, 'Teaching EFL/ESL Reading: A Task Based Approach'.

Before you register

Please note that all OUP webinars are free of charge, and you may register for as many as you like.

Can’t attend the webinar? Watch the recording in your own time.

If you are not able to attend the webinar, you don’t have to miss out. If you register you will still get a link to the recording of the webinar session in the follow up email.

Before you join the webinar

Please ensure you have a computer (or supported mobile/tablet device), audio speakers and/or working headset and a good quality connection to the internet before attempting to join.

We would recommend that you test your device and network in advance of the webinar by clicking on the below link (not required for mobile/tablet users). The test will run automatically:

https://collab8.adobeconnect.com/common/help/en/support/meeting_test.htm

You must pass tests 1 to 3, you need not pass test 4 (this is for hosts and presenters only).

Mobile/tablet users

Please install the Adobe Connect application onto your device before attempting to access the webinar. Please search for ‘Adobe Connect’ in your app store (e.g. iOS App Store or Google Play), and load the free application onto your device.

More help can be found here:

http://www.adobe.com/uk/products/adobeconnect/mobile-meetings.html

Joining the webinar

The 'join' button for the webinar will not become active until 30 minutes before each webinar, therefore, you will not be able to log in until the day of the webinar.

If you try to log in before the day of the webinar, you may receive an Adobe error message on the login page.

Each email address can only be used to log into one device at a time, therefore, please keep your login details confidential.

If you would like a colleague to join the webinar, please ask them to email elt.events@oup.com.

Audio

To listen to the webinar, please ensure that you have a suitable headset or speakers.

Headsets must be plugged in before you enter the webinar room.

Please ensure that your audio is switched on and the volume at a suitable level.

Technical Support

Should you require any technical support before or during the webinar, please call the 24/7 Adobe Connect international toll-free helpline 00800 800 23623.

A list of helpline numbers can be found here:

https://helpx.adobe.com/adobe-connect/adobe-connect-phone-numbers.html

If helpline dial-in numbers for your country are not available, please dial the UK helpline number with the UK country code: +44 (0)207 365 0735.

Email Notifications

When registering for a webinar, you will receive the following emails:

  • Registration confirmation email - immediately after registration
  • Invitation email - one day before the webinar, this contains the joining link to access the webinar room
  • Follow-Up email - up to two working days after the webinar

In the follow-up email, attendees will receive:

  • Access to an online Feedback Survey, which you can use to tell us about your experience
  • Personalised Professional Development Certificate
  • Recording of your webinar session
  • Presentation Slides

For further information about registering and taking part in our webinars, please view the Technical Support and FAQ's section of our Webinars page or contact elt.events@oup.com.

Please note that all responses from elt.events@oup.com will be in English.

Register

Featured Titles